National Sprint League Round 1/2 – Bulletin 1 and Entry Information

  • Home
  • Orienteering
  • National Sprint League Round 1/2 – Bulletin 1 and Entry Information


Friday 4 March Sprint Freyberg HS & Pit Park First start 6 pm

Saturday 5 March KO Sprint

Qualification Palmerston N Esplanade First start 9 am

¼ Finals Palmerston North GHS First start 11.30 am

½ Finals IPU First start 2.30 pm

Final Massey University First start 5.30 pm

Sunday 6 March Sprint Levin Schools First start 9 am

Sprint Waiopehu College. Levin First start 1 pm

Courses and winning times

There will be only 2 courses: Men’s Open and Women’s Open. Estimated winning times will be 12-15 minutes for the individual sprints, 10 minutes for the KO qualification and 8 minutes for each of the KO QF, SF and Final. The numbers of QF and SF in the KO sprint will depend upon the number of entries. It is hoped that it will be possible to run B and C SF etc. so that those knocked out at QF level get further runs.

As New Zealand is in Covid Protection Level Red the field will be limited to a maximum of 40 men and 40 women.

Entries can be made at with a closing date of 11.59 pm Sunday 27 February.

Entry fees are $10 per individual sprint and $15 for the KO sprint. Entrants will be invoiced by Orienteering New Zealand after the event.

Covid precautions

  1. All entrants must be double vaccinated against Covid-19 and in possession of a valid vaccination pass.
  2. As above the number of entries is strictly limited to keep the number of athletes + officials below 100.
  3. Whilst at the events all athletes and officials must where face masks at all times except when actually running.
  4. There will be no results display at the individual sprints and at the KO sprint results will be limited to show the allocation of athletes to KO heats.

Travel and Accommodation

It is recommended that those traveling from outside the immediate area of ​​the Manawatu/Horowhenua contact the of their respective regional teams regarding the managers of group travel and accommodation (for which some funding is available). Team managers are:

Northern – Kieran Woods ([email protected])

Tommy Hayes ([email protected])

Central – Gene Beveridge ([email protected])

Imogen Scott ([email protected])

Southern – Jenni Adams ([email protected])

Carsten Joergensen ([email protected])

Leave a Comment